Skip to content

the first one.

March 3, 2010

First of all, the March 2010 Marie Claire was pretty d-lishhh. In my favorite shoot, there were a few too many things that had me drooling. You know, the kind of coveting that has you signing up for online surveys and focus groups in a desperate attempt to make fast cash. *It’s a horrible idea btw. I actually did stoop that low once and I continue to get auto insurance quotes.

My favorite thing – and the one piece I might actually be able to scrounge up enough dough for – is the brass ring that stays glued to her perfectly tanned fingers throughout most of shoot. It’s a two finger brass ring, part of a capsule collection from the gals of A Peace Treaty. Farah Malik, a Pakistani Muslim, and Dana Arbib, a Libyan Jew make up the duo… hence the peace treaty name. The collection, SUNARI, “was inspired by the Kuchi tribes of Afghanistan and Turkoman tribes of Central Asia” and is made up of twelve beautifully made-to-order pieces. I grew up in the Middle East and used to see a lot of the shapes used in the collection. I’ll do a post with some of the pieces I’ve collected over the years.

Here’s a web shot of the GARDEZ ring… the one I need, ahem, want.

I’m also kind of obsessed with their rendition of the hoop earring. For me, they’re quite modern – even though they draw inspiration from a people with history predating anything considered “vintage” by a couple thousand years.

A bit about the girls here on WorshipWorthy.com. Their pieces may be slightly irregular, by design, but they’re perfectly… uh, perfect.

You can find some great, affordable pieces at tribalbazaar.com 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

